歡迎來到Parentleaders.org!

32個社區教育理事會和4個全市教育理事會的責任包括向總監提建議、評估學區學監、以及為代表的家長維護權益等;他們為他們的社區做出重要貢獻,並且會對紐約市的公共教育產生影響。

以下是關於這些理事會的概況,以及甄選會員的程序。

詳細資訊請點擊頁面左側的鏈接。

社區教育理事會(CEC)
CEC允許家長參與學區級別的事務。他們一共有11名可以投票的成員:9名子女讀幼稚園至8年級的家長(兩個名額預留給一位英語學習生家長和一位IEP家長),2名行政區主席委任的成員,以及1名沒有投票權的高中學生。

全市教育理事會
全市教育理事會允許家長參與市一級的事務,為特定群體維護權益。與CEC一樣,這些理事會各有11名成員,全市高中理事會例外,有13名成員。四個全市理事會包括:

  • 全市高中理事會(CCHS)
  • 全市特殊教育理事會(CCSE)
  • 全市英語學習生理事會(CCELL)
  • 第75學區理事會

社區及全市教育理事會甄選程序
甄選程序依照州法律規定,兩年進行一次,每次持續90天,從二月份持續至五月份。

Welcome to Parentleaders.org!

With duties that range from advising the Chancellor, to evaluating district superintendents, to being strong advocates for the families they represent; the 32 Community Education Councils and 4 Citywide Education Councils make important contributions to their communities and help shape public education in New York City.

What follows is a brief overview of the councils and the selection process that helps to determine their membership.

For more information please click on the links on the left-hand side of the page.

Community Education Councils (CECs)
CECs allow for parent involvement on the district level. They have a total of 11 voting members: 9 parents of students K-8 (two seats are reserved for a parent of an ELL and of an IEP student), 2 members appointed by the Borough President, and 1 non-voting high school student.

Citywide Education Councils
Citywide Education Councils allow for parent involvement at the city level, advocating for specific populations. Like CECs, these councils have 11 members each, except for the Citywide Council on High Schools which has 13. The four Citywide Councils are:

  • Citywide Council on High Schools (CCHS)
  • Citywide Council on Special Education (CCSE)
  • Citywide Council on English Language Learners (CCELL)
  • District 75 Council

The Community and Citywide Education Council Selection Process
Selection is a process mandated by state law to occur biannually during a 90-day window that extends from February to May.